RSS Feed

A Modern Miracle.

Expect MiraclesDo you believe in a miracle working God?

I do. I believe that God is able to do things that we humans can’t begin to understand. When He does I feel uplifted and encouraged. That happened again this week and I would like to share it with you.

This is an exciting post that will bless you but in order for you to understand it I will first need to give you a little background.

As regular readers will know Marilyn, my wife, and I run a ministry called Christian House Sitters that has been a blessing to people all over the world.

All income from this ministry goes to run a Christian Children’s Home called Home of Peace in rural Kenya where we accommodate, feed, clothe, educate and look after about 80 children who would otherwise be left to fend for themselves on the streets and many would no doubt die. The Children’s home is run by Marilyn from England and in Kenya by James a Community Elder who lives very near to the home.

Under them we have a local leadership team headed by Erick our Administrator and acting social worker. Marilyn is in contact with James or Erick many times every week and she makes certain that funds are used properly and the home is well run.

Next to Home of Peace they have build Peace Church which is run by Erick, James and others.

Twice a month either our Pastor or I ( we take turns) will phone the church on a Sunday morning and we will preach to them via their cell phone and a translator.

Also a further twice a month one of us will ring on a Saturday morning and teach a group of about 30 local rural Pastors who come for training.

This is always a blessing . Last Sunday the person preaching to Peace Church was our Pastor it was not me.

Here is a brief account of what happened. It is written by Erick who was present. Please forgive his English. I could have corrected it but wanted you to get the full impact of his words.

“We are praising God for the miracle which happened through phone teaching by Rev J on Sunday. Many received the word of God and there was healing what make us amezine is people can be total healed by God through words from phone.

Last Sunday we witness when three were healed.

A lady named Gladis who was so sick in all part of her body, she was feeling much pain but she healed & praising the Lord for what happened to her life.

Second was a man named Morice he has the problem on right hand that was broken, the bones came out the skin for many month, he cannot carry anything, but after Rev J pray for him his hand was healed and pain gone, he jump & clapping for the Lord.

Third was Elder James he have knee problem for many weeks, he can’t walk fast ,when Rev praying for him last Sunday he was total healed, he can run around and Ride the Bicycle to the market. He praise God.

God bless.

ERICK”  

God is so good we underestimate His greatness all the time. These are simple people who believe what God says, take Him at His word and see things happen. Sadly I feel that at times in the Western World we over analyse and intellectualise God.God said it that settles it

I believe it was Moody who said “God said it, I believe it, that settles it” That is in some ways over simplistic but it certainly contains a lot of truth.

 

 

Praise

 

WordPress are adding adverts to blogs. They are not always shown but if there are adverts on this page please note they were not placed by me, not approved by me and do not imply my recommendation

About housesitters

ABOUT Christian House Sitters Christian House Sitters is a Worldwide ministry that started in order to provide holidays for Christians and sitters for owners who needed a reliable Christian to look after their home, pets and garden. House owners do not pay anything to have their property listed. House sitters are only charged £25 per year and in return for this some enjoy numerous holidays each year. All fees from membership go to sponsor food for children at the Home of Peace Children’s Home in Kenya. This only supplies about a quarter of what is needed to feed the children so we urgently need sponsors. All funds go via our Registered Charity TLC Children’s Trust Charity Number 1156786 website http://www.tlc-childrenstrust.org N.B. Joining Christian House Sitters does NOT commit you to sponsoring a child or giving any support beyond your membership fee to these children. Although naturally if you want to support that would be greatly appreciated. We have some regular sponsors and other people who give an occasional gift. All are greatly appreciated. ABOUT RAY & MARILYN We are Marilyn & Ray White. A fun loving Christian couple who have been in Christian work for over 30 years. Marilyn was born in England but moved to Zimbabwe as a baby. At the age of 16 she moved to South Africa. Ray was born in South Africa and grew up on a farm. We met in Johannesburg and got married in 1966. Ray worked in business for many years then he worked for YfC in South Africa then went on to Bible College and Pastored a church. In 1982 we moved from South Africa to England. In addition to his theological training Ray trained in Psychology and since moving to the UK he has lectured in Psychology, counselled for the NHS and opened a Christian Counselling Centre. Marilyn is also a trained counsellor and manager. In addition to the counselling we trained Christian counsellors both in our local area and by invitation in other areas of the UK. In total over 700 people completed the training courses. Many are serving the Lord by working in or through their local churches. We also ran a secular Stress Management business. We are now semi-retired and focus our time and attention on Christian House Sitters and Ray also serves as a member of our Church Leadership Team. Ray also has an active preaching ministry and runs Christian seminars on subjects such as stress management for church groups. He has written two books. A Christian book that is a very practical workbook on Christian commitment as applied to real life. The book looks at how we can surrender ourselves more fully to God. This is looked at under the headings of Physical, Mental, Social and Spiritual commitment. The book is called Let’s Get Serious. He has also written a secular book on Stress Management called Stress Overcoming this Potential Killer. (Ray was previously Chair of the International Stress Management Association UK). News Update This book has now been released as an e-book as well A few years ago we did a 2 month House Sit in France. Whilst there we felt the Lord leading us to set up a Christian House Sitting service. Since then we have done a number of other house sits. We believe this site will benefit many Christians around the world. Feel free to contact us (BUT please no spam) NOTE: If you want a fast reply the best way to contact us is via the contact page on the Christian House Sitters website www.christian-housesitters.com God bless you, Ray & Marilyn

7 responses »

  1. So lovely to hear good news hope the recipients of healing continue in health and wholeness

    Reply
  2. Thanks to your Moody clue, I’ve been digging around.

    Life, Work and Sermons of Dwight L. Moody: the great evangelist
    (text retrieved from http://www.ccel.us/moody.ch13.html‎)
    page 165 et seq.

    I have been assailed by doubts. I have been assailed by unbelief. I have been attacked by the enemy of all righteousness; but I tell you for twenty odd years I have been able to stand fair and square right on that rock. God said it. I believe it; God said it. I lay hold of it, and I just rest right there. What we want is to let our hope go down like an anchor into the word of God, and that gives us something to rest upon.

    God said it. I will believe it, and I will rest my soul upon the word of God, not upon my feelings.

    The 23 sermons start at http://www.ccel.us/moody.toc.html

    I also found:
    1950 Senate Committee on Labor and Public Welfare Labor-Management Relations in the Southern Textile Manufacturing Industry 171 : If the Bible says it, I believe it and that settles it, and we will all profit by its guidance. 1965 Destiny Quarterly Review XXXVI. 265 : The old maxim states it concisely: “God said it; I believe it; that settles it!” 1968 Vanderbreggen Soon the War Is Ending 47 : Be as positive and to-the-point as the person who had been undecided for years, but finally said: God says it! Jesus did it! I believe it! That settles it! 1969 Levy God Bless You Real Good: My Crusade with Billy Graham 123 : God said it is his Word, Christ did it on the cross, I believe it in my heart, and that settles it! 1970 Evergreen XIV. iss. 74–79 114 : Some examples Billy Graham has never said: … “I believe it! That settles it!” That phrase has been used by another evangelist, Jack Wyrtzen, for many years—in fact, it is one of Wyrtzen’s trademarks. 1976 Roland The Improbable Era: The South Since World War II 126 : Some of them proudly displayed bumper stickers bearing the affirmation: “God said it. I believe it. That settles it.” 1981 Taylor What Every Husband Should Know 63 : With good intentions I used to say, “God said it, I believe it, and that settles it!” I have learned better, later. Now I know that God said it, and that settles it, whether I believe it or not. It is not my believing that settles it. 1982 Hagin Seven Things You Should Know About Divine Healing 33 : We Baptists had a motto: “The Bible says it, I believe it, and that settles it for me.” I wrote in red ink in the fly leaf of my Bible: “The Bible says it, I believe it, and that settles it.” 1985 Cole Basic Christian Faith 56 : Sophisticates of a certain disposition deride the little chorus that says, “God says it, I believe it, and that settles it for me.” They sneer that this is “simplistic.” 1993 Phipps The Wisdom and Wit of Rabbi Jesus 64 : First, he noted a bumper sticker popular with Christian fundamentalists: “God said it, I believe it, that settles it.” Rabbi Green commented that his tradition could accept this slogan if “now, let’s discuss it” replaced the last clause. 1995 Wilkens Beyond Bumper Sticker Ethics: An Introduction to Theories of Right and Wrong 170 : Divine command theory, sometimes called theological voluntarism, can be expressed by the bumper sticker “God said it, I believe it, that settles it.” 1997 Seavey The Shock Wave 85 : “God said it. I believe it. That settles it!” I was just a young man in college when I heard a visiting preacher make that statement, which had a lasting impact on my impressionable mind. 2000 Baker-Fletcher Dirty Hands: Christian Ethics in a Morally Ambiguous World 30 : [Consider] the unfounded assumption that one may go about “obeying Scripture” in a literal fashion, or, as the slogan goes in many evangelical and fundamentalist churches, “The Bible says it, I believe it, that settles it.” 2007 Kimball They Like Jesus but Not the Church: Insights from Emerging Generations 201 : An old saying goes, “The Bible says it, I believe it, that settles it.” It’s still used quite often by some Christians who take a dogmatic stance on an issue based on a single Bible verse. 2008 Bickel, Jantz I’m Fine With God… It’s Christians I Can’t Stand: Getting Past the Religious Garbage in the Search for Spiritual Truth 143 : he lived by the creed made popular by a gospel song in the 1960s: “God said it, I believe it, and that settles it for me.” 2009 Fletcher Out of My Valley: A Cancer Survivor’s Journey to Meaning and Hope 78 : I am reminded of a popular saying I first heard in the 70s, “God said it, I believe it, and that settles it.” This is not a true saying. It should be, “God said it, and that settles it.” When God speaks it is settled, whether we believe it or not.
    (thanks to http://www.dictionaryofchristianese.com/god-said-it-i-believe-it-that-settles-it/ for all those!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

